Offense

The choice to be offended often doesn’t feel like a choice at all. Whatever word or tone spurs the offense creates a ball of rolling irritation that gains more and more energy as it goes.  Often have been offended for quite some time before recognizing that I am offended and have been trapped into behaving accordingly.

Freeing yourself of any trap necessitates being aware of its clutches.  Only when I get the to cusp of awareness of the offense trap can I begin to say that maybe I don’t need to be feeling these emotions at all.

I don’t think that one can get to such a state of self enlightenment that they are able to completely forestall the initial pull towards offense but perhaps that is because I am simply not that enlightened.

At any rate, I think it is important to gain awareness of this pesky habit that can so quickly overwhelm our senses and sensibilities.

If we are going to be adult free thinkers I believe we should  be on guard for this little pest.  We should be the author of our lives, not our emotions.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

